I'm trying really hard to start cooking more...so this is a lot of experimenting. I have a tendency to find recipes online and then they don't turn out so well. I also like to try to make them a little healthier and lowfat..which my husband doesn't like BUT I'm just trying to keep him healthy.  I made Chicken, Broccoli, and Garlic Pasta Casserole that I found on Cooks.com.  It was decent but I ended up using Skim Milk in place of Whole Milk which I think made the casserole a little runny. Erik gave it a ....I'd eat it again but with more cheese. He's all about loading it up with fat.

Chicken, Broccoli & Garlic Pasta Casserole
The recipe is as follows:

Ingredients
3 oz. cooked penne
Salt & Pepper to taste
3 c. steamed, chopped broccoli
2 cloves chopped garlic
3 tbsp. flour
1 tsp. dried thyme
1 1/2 c. chicken broth
1 1/2 c. whole milk
1 bay leaf -- I didn't have so didn't use it.
3/4 lb chicken breast boneless strips
Pinch nutmeg
2 tbsp. chopped parsley
1/2 c. cottage cheese
3 tbsp. parmesan cheese

Directions
Cook pasta according to directions. Steam broccoli. Place both in a bowl. heat oven to 350 degrees. In a sauce pan, heat the butter over medium heat.  Add onion and cook for about 3 minutes until softened. Stir in garlic and flour; cook for 1 minute. Stir in thyme and then slowly whisk in broth and milk. Add bay leaf, bring to boil, reduce heat and cook gently for 10 minutes. Add chicken and cook for 2 to 3 minutes until chicken is barely cooked through.  Remove from heat and season with salt, pepper and nutmeg.  Add to bowl with the pasta and broccoli along with parsley and stir until mixed. Put casserole into oiled 11 1/2 x 8 inch baking dish. Dot with cottage cheese and sprinkle with parmesan. Bake for 20 minutes until heated and through and top is lightly browned.

I served the pasta with homemade white bread! YUM YUM!
 
Picture
Picture
Picture



Leave a Reply.